Six municipalities will pilot the Municipal Energy Champions Program

Thank you to every municipality that applied to participate in the Municipal Energy Champions pilot program.

The Municipal Energy Champions pilot program supports municipalities by providing free person-to-person support for developing, managing and implementing energy management initiatives.

The pilot program’s original design called for four municipalities. Given the overwhelming interest in the program, six municipalities were accepted to pilot the program: 

  1. Brazeau County 
  2. Town of Falher
  3. Town of Thorsby 
  4. Town of Two Hills 
  5. Town of Whitecourt
  6. Municipality of Wood Buffalo 

This 6-month pilot program will help the Action Centre frame future energy extension services for municipalities in Alberta.  

Municipal Energy Champions will positively influence municipal operations, and identify opportunities for energy efficiency and renewable energy projects, with assistance and support from the Energy and Climate Change Advisor at the Municipal Climate Change Action Centre.

Want to start managing municipal energy better?

Learn more about our Advisory Services.